Schengen Agreement Coronavirus

In the midst of a coronavirus pandemic, countries around the world continue to restrict entry and most travel is still discouraged. DW Travel offers a brief summary of where travel is allowed – and how to get the latest information. Those arriving from a high-risk area in Germany must take a coronavirus test from 8 August, following an order from Health Minister Jens Spahn. Currently, many countries are considered at risk, including the United States and Brazil. In the European Union, Luxembourg, the Belgian region of Antwerp and the Spanish regions of Aragon, Catalonia and Navarre have been at risk since the beginning of August. Despite the uncertainty over the coronavirus, Nepal has reopened Everest for the autumn season of trekking and climbing. In order to stimulate the troubled tourism sector, the government will launch international flights to the country from 17 August. The Himalayan country closed its borders in March, just before the busy spring season, when hundreds of climbers usually flock to the country. Norwegian cruise organizer Hurtigruten stopped all cruises on August 3 until further notice after the coronavirus erupted on one of its ships.

At least 40 passengers and crew on the Roald Amundsen tested positive for COVID-19. Meanwhile, German shipping company Aida Cruises has also postponed plans to restart due to a lack of permits. If visitors test the coronavirus, they must be quarantined. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs responded to the increase in the number of coronavirus infections on 16 September with other travel warnings, including Vienna and Budapest. The province of North Larland, along with Amsterdam, as well as the cities of The Hague and Rotterdam are also affected. New areas at risk have also been identified in the Czech Republic, Romania, Croatia, France and Switzerland. The European Consumer Centres network provides citizens with advice and assistance on consumer rights on cross-border issues. These include hotel or travel bookings affected by the coronavirus pandemic. For more information on the resolution of consumer disputes, click here. Following the significant increase in the number of coronavirus infections in Europe, Berlin has announced other EU countries as areas at risk for travellers. In addition to Belgium and Iceland, other regions of France and Great Britain, including Northern Ireland and Wales, were classified as risk areas on 30 September. The federal government has extended the travel warning of about 160 countries outside the European Union by two weeks until 14 September.

A foreign ministry spokeswoman justified the decision on Wednesday 26.08. increased rates of coronavirus infection. “The situation will not ease enough by mid-September to lift the worldwide travel warning,” she said. With 2,500 passengers instead of 6,000, msc Grandiosa left the port of Genoa on 16 August. The resorts of the seven-day trip are Naples, Palermo and Valletta. Passengers and crew have been tested for coronavirus prior to boarding and body temperature must be checked daily. Rival cruise line Costa will not again offer Mediterranean cruises until September. Passengers and travellers can be assured that their rights are protected.